Tags

The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong Reviewed by Maddie Y.

 

The Awakening is the second novel in the “Darkest Powers” trilogy written by Kelley Armstrong (The Summoning, The Awakening and The Reckoning). The Awakening is a paranormal, romance, urban fantasy YA novel. If you’re like me, you love fantasy, girly novels! Although I do not only like girly books I still have a sweet spot for them. This trilogy is absolutely amazing! The suspense through ought each chapter makes you not want to put it down! I read this book in one sit down, each sentence reeling me in. This book is so great it’s hard not to stop gushing about it! The plot of the story is so original and unique, dare I say it’s one of my favorite books I have ever read.

The book starts off where Chloe, Tori and Rae are in cells in The Edison Group’s laboratory. Chloe’s other friends Derek and Simon are nowhere to be seen. The group escaped from the mental facility known as “The Lyle House” where the Edison Group held her friends who are supernaturals, but they were experiments and genetically modified their supernatural abilities and made them extremely powerful. Her and Tori escape and find Derek and Simon. But now they are constantly on the run.

Chloe and Derek are becoming close friends. Derek is a werewolf, so Chloe helps him through “The Change,” which is when he transforms into a werewolf. Chloe always seems to be there for him. Chloe and Derek run into dangerous situations, but Derek always looks out for Chloe and makes sure she’s safe before he thinks of himself.

You guys don’t know how badly I want Chloe and Derek to be together. I legit envy their relationship! Simon likes Chloe a lot but I don’t think Chloe feels the same way. I read this book in one sit down (which is not good because I stayed up to 4:30 a.m and I had to go to school the next day!) because I wanted to know what’s happening with Chloe and Derek. If you love girly romantic relationships like me, you’ll absolutely love this series.

I am absolutely hooked and I’m sure you’ll be too! I recommend that if you want to start this trilogy, you read it in order. To be honest I had already bought The Reckoning and right after I finished this book, I picked up the next one and carried on! I’m so glad I did, too; I couldn’t bear to wait until the next afternoon!  Each book ends with a cliffhanger so be ready!

 

Maddie is a 14 year old girl who is absolutely obsessed with reading and writing! But she also loves sports! Her favorites are rowing, tennis and swimming! She loves to bake, specifically cupcakes! Come visit her new book blog “Once Upon A Story” @ www.maddiegal20.blog.com