August 20

The Power of Listening to Stories Together by Tammy Mulligan and Clare Landrigan

Recently, I got the chance to watch Josh Funk host story time at a local bookstore, Newtonville Books.  Fans, young and old, and even shoppers who were there by happenstance, crowded into the tiny backroom of the bookstore to listen to a story together.     As Josh read, I found myself intently listening to […]

August 19

Fellow Travelers by Donalyn Miller

I have packing rituals—habits I follow each time I prepare for a trip. I can pack my carry-on suitcase, Little Red, like a racetrack pit crew—quickly slotting my clothes, computer cords, and shoes into their proper places. After packing the essentials, I examine the available remaining space in my bag and fill it with books. […]

August 18

Top Ten Reasons Students Should Read More Whole Books and Fewer Passages and Packets by Cari White

This seems like a list that should be written by Captain Obvious, right? Of course students should read whole books from beginning to end! But does that really happen at your school? Or does the workroom copier groan under the load of stapled packets with  “passages” and related multiple-choice questions? Are students unable to find […]

August 17

Behind the Scenes with Yuyi Morales’s Dreamers [Video Exclusive]

It is so easy to feel that we immigrants don’t belong, that we are not wanted, and that we have nothing to offer. When I came to San Francisco in 1994 from Mexico, I had that feeling, because I spoke no English and I only had a bag of clothes and a baby in my […]

August 16

The Ordinary is Extraordinary: Sharing Our Immigration Stories by Camille Andros

When I began working on The Dress and the Girl over eight years ago, it was sparked by a personal family story about the immigration of my husband’s great-grandfather from a small Greek Village to the United States. Harry Androutsos was seventeen years old when he left his family, home, and everything he knew to […]

August 15

Invictus by Ryan Graudin – Review by Stephanie Galvan Russell

For fans of Dr. Who and Guardians of the Galaxy, Invictus is an invigorating and exciting book. For non-sci-fi loving people, Invictus is EVEN BETTER! It is a sci-fi/time travel story designed for people who don’t like sci-fi. I was incredibly lucky to sit next to Ryan Graudin at the 2017 Texas Library Conference Texas […]

August 14

Trailer Reveal: Potato Pants! by Laurie Keller

Hello, everyone! What a spud-tastic honor it is to have the book trailer for my upcoming picture book, Potato Pants!, revealed here at the Nerdy Book Club! It was shown in July at Nerd Camp but this is the first time it will be shared online. In Potato’s words: “EEEEEE!” (translation: WOOHOO!).   The writing […]

August 13

Keeping Afloat with Books by Debby Smith

Each school year has its own personality, its own way of being remembered. Last year was like trying to maneuver a raft through whitewater while blindfolded without paddles. After two decades in the classroom, I thought I knew what to expect and what to do. But when one of my students died unexpectedly, standards and […]

August 11

Ten Early Readers and Transitional Chapter Books Not to Be Overlooked by Alyson Beecher and Michele Knott

As the start of the school year quickly approaches, I have been finding ways to book talk as many books as I can to teachers. Recently, I shared picture books, early readers and chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels, and nonfiction for children with a group of K-12 teachers. Yes, a little of […]

August 10

Cover Reveal for The Iliad by Gareth Hinds

  My graphic novel adaptation of The Odyssey was first published in 2010. Since then it’s gone on to be (without question) my best-selling book, used in classrooms throughout the country and lauded for its respectful treatment of the text and for bringing the story to life for many thousands of readers. Teachers have a […]