Celebrating Books

No matter who wins the ALA Youth Media Awards, the whole event is about celebrating the best titles.

And celebrate we did. Many of us were watching from home (on unexpected inclement weather days off from school) or watching at school with our students. The cheers and gasps – and even the nail-biting – could be heard all across social media as we heard the reactions of the audience in Seattle.

And we at Nerdy Book Club would like to salute the winners.

2013 John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:


The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Read Katherine’s Nerdy Book Club post.


2013 Newbery Honors go to:


  • Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
  • Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
  • Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage


2013 Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

This Is Not My Hat illustrated and written by Jon Klassen


2013 Caldecott Honors go to:


  • Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds
  • Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett
  • Green illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo
  • Sleep Like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue

2013 Coretta Scott King Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

2013 Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award:

Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney

2013 Coretta Scott King Author Honors go to:


  • Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by E. B. Lewis
  • No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie


2013 Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

I, Too, Am America  illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Langston Hughes

2013 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honors go to:


  • H. O. R. S. E.  illustrated and written by Christopher Myers
  • Ellen’s Broom illustrated by Daniel Minter, written by Kelly Starling Lyons
  • I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr.  illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Martin Luther King, Jr.

2013 Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

In Darkness by Nick Lake


2013 Printz Honors go to:


  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Dodger by Terry Pratchett
  • The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna

2013 Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:


  • Back to Front and Upside Down! written and illustrated by Claire Alexander (for children ages 0 to 10)
  • A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean (middle-school ages 11-13)
  • Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am by Harry Mazer and Peter Lerangis (for teen ages 13-18)


2013 Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:


  • Caring is Creepy by David Zimmerman
  • Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
  • Juvenile in Justice by Richard Ross
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  • My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf
  • One Shot at Forever by Chris Ballard
  • Pure by Julianna Baggott
  • The Round House by Louise Erdrich
  • Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

2013 Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States:

The Fault in Our Stars produced by Brilliance Audio.  The book is written by John Green and narrated by Kate Rudd.

2013 Odyssey Honors go to:


  • Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian produced by Listening Library, written by Eoin Colfer and narrated by Nathaniel Parker;
  • Ghost Knight produced by Listening Library, written by Cornelia Funke and narrated by Elliot Hill; and
  • Monstrous Beauty produced by Macmillian Audio, written by Elizabeth Fama and narrated by Katherine Kellgren.

2013 Pura Belpré Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

2013 Pura Belpré (Author) Award:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

2013 Pura Belpre’ Honors go to:

The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano by Sonia Manzano

2013 Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award:

Martín de Porres: The Rose in the Desert  illustrated by David Diaz, written by Gary D. Schmidt

No Belpré Illustrator Honor Books were selected this year.

2013 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin

2013  Sibert Honors go to:


  • Electric Ben: The Amazing Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin written and illustrated by Robert Byrd
  • Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 by Phillip M. Hoose
  • Titanic: Voices from the Disaster written by Deborah Hopkinson


2013 Stonewall Book Award – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

2013 Stonewall Honors go to:


  • Drama written and illustrated by Raina Telgemeier (Read Raina’s Nerdy Book Club post.)
  • Gone, Gone, Gone by Hannah Moskowitz
  • October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard by Lesléa Newman
  • Sparks: The Epic, Completely True Blue, (Almost) Holy Quest of Debbie by S. J. Adams

2013 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:

Up, Tall and High! written and illustrated by Ethan Long


2013 Geisel Honors go to:


  • Let’s Go for a Drive! written and illustrated by Mo Willems
  • Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons by Eric Litwin, created and illustrated by James Dean
  • Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover written and illustrated by Cece Bell


2013 William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens:


Seraphina by Rachel Hartman


2013 Finalists include:


  • Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby
  • Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo
  • After the Snow by S. D. Crockett
  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth


2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin

2013 Finalists include:


  • Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different by Karen Blumenthal
  • Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 by Phillip Hoose
  • Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson
  • We’ve Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children’s March by Cynthia Levinson