My Own Copy by Charlotte Cundiff

Last week when I handed out the Scholastic order forms to my fourth grade class for the month, I noticed Charlotte’s wide smile as her eyes lingered over one of the pages.

“See something you’re interested in?” I asked. Charlotte is an avid reader with a strong sense of her own reading preferences.

“I already know what I’m going to order,” she said with a satisfied sigh.  “Eight Keys.”

Thinking back to some of our reading conferences, I wondered aloud, “But you already read that.”

“Yes, but I just have to have my own copy!”

Smiling to myself, thinking this is one of the highest compliments you can pay a book, I suggested, “Well, you definitely need to write a review for that book, then.”


eight keys

Eight Keys

By Suzanne LaFleur

Reviewed by Charlotte


Unlock, unlock, unlock, unlock…

There were eight locked doors upstairs in the barn. Eight of them!

Could those be for me?

I checked Dad’s letter again: “Discover and unlock when you are ready.”


Eight Keys is a story about a young girl named Elise.

She is starting middle school while having to handle multiple responsibilities including a mean bully, a friendship that is tearing apart, and a mystery dedicated to eight keys with eight matching doors. Left by her father before his tragic death, they each have messages locked inside that are weighing down on her like dropped stones. And even though Elise has a lot on her hands that seems that it could never be helped, she finds each key one-by-one and unlocks a new door. She also unlocks a new wad of advice and a message left behind by her father, concealed within a room!


I certainly LOVED Eight Keys because of the exciting mystery that lassoed your mind and pulled you in. I also loved how it kept you wondering what was going to be in the next room, waiting to be discovered. I adored the fact that the book sort of took you on a roller coaster ride of emotions, like you could feel what Elise was feeling. I even cried at some parts that were both beautiful and a little sad at the same time! And I enjoyed the fact that the book was sort of directed toward friendship and love, as Elise learns even more about those during the story.

I’d truly recommend Eight Keys for people who love a heartwarming, mysterious, and excellent book about a girl who goes from independent and slightly irresponsible to increasingly complete, as each door is unlocked along the way.

Charlotte Cundiff is a student in Jennifer Brittin’s fourth grade class. She has enjoyed many books this year such as Cynthia Lord’s Rules, Holly Black’s Doll Bones, and DiCamillo’s Flora and Ulysses. She is also an aspiring author, having written many short stories about friendship and informational articles about sharks.