Sketch11319220 July 04


POLL: Best Celebrations in Books

Here in the States, we’re celebrating Independence Day. For many of us, it’s a day to spend with family and friends, to enjoy cookouts and picnics, to watch parades and fireworks.

If you’re anything like me, these summer celebrations are easy to recall. I remember walking around at the riverfront park hoping to run into friends or waiting for the parade to come down the street, getting ready to scramble for the candy tossed in my direction. I can remember seeing fireworks in Ohio with my cousins, at State College with my then-fiance and our friends, on the hill near the elementary school in town with my toddler son and husband, from canoes with friends, from the side of the road in the middle of nowhere when we hadn’t realized we would get to see fireworks one year. I always remember waiting for the big finale.

I’m sure I’m not alone in having this flashes of memories about celebrations. They imprint themselves on us.

I also know this because these sorts of events show up in the books we read. The characters go to fairs, they watch parades, they have big picnics, they blow out candles, and they blow bubbles at the bride and groom – because these celebrations are the stuff of life. And the stuff of life is the stuff of books.

So, Nerdy Nation, which books that you have read have the best celebrations in them? They don’t have to be the Fourth of July celebrations, but think about which celebrations you have enjoyed vicariously through books that have left their mark on you. Share them with the rest of us in the comments below!