MORPHEUS February 21


Top Ten Book Boyfriends by Karin Perry

I was lucky enough to be a part of the Nerdy Book Club presentation at NCTE last November. What a fun group of people to work with. You can go back in the archives and find the post recapping the presentation on the blog.

karin at ncte

My part of the presentation was to talk about the Saturday Top Ten posts. I focused on a fun topic because I knew we’d have a packed room and wanted to be sure to keep them interested and awake. (People tend to get kind of punchy at the end of a presentation, especially a couple days into the conference.)


I chose to talk about my Top Ten Book Boyfriends and I am pleased to say that the topic did the trick! The crowd was incredible and reacted just like I hoped they would.  I’d like to thank my Nerdy Book Club friends for asking me to post my list on the blog. It’s always fun to talk about hotties.


Without further ado, behold, Karin Perry’s Top Ten Book Boyfriends. (In no particular order.)


Four from DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth


What an amazing guy! He is strong, brave, devoted, caring……uh I could probably go on, but I don’t want to sound weird.  HA HA. I love that Four is sensitive, thoughtful, and has amazing fighting skills. Watching him kick butt sends shivers down my spine!


heart divider




Perry from UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi


Let me see, Perry is strong, brave, devoted, caring….sound familiar. Yep, probably most of my book boyfriends are going to share these traits so I better come up with some other reasons I like them.  Perry is so resourceful. He is a master hunter and always has the welfare of his tribe in mind. His relationship with his nephew melts my heart. The tension between him and Aria is palpable!


heart divider



Chase from ARTICLE 5 by Kristen Simmons


It’s always tough watching characters do things they are forced to do. Things that go against their personal ethics. Chase is forced to do something terrible to Ember. Something that shatters her world forever! What makes me love Chase is his determination to save Ember. Even though he has a hard life and hits major obstacles along the way. He still loves Ember and will do anything to get her to safety.


heart divider



Noah from THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin


While I didn’t like THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER very much, I DID like Mara’s love interest. Noah is rich, smart, and English. Yep! His accent really does it for me.


heart divider



Edmond from HOW I LIVE NOW by Meg Rosoff


Edmond may not be an action hero like Four or a healer like Noah, but he is English! He has a quiet way about him. He is very insightful, strong, and protective. Yes, he is Daisy’s cousin, but hey, it’s a post apocalyptic society – the world is crumbling around them. Take love and happiness where you can find it.


A description of Edmond. See, I told you he was quiet.


“And after awhile of this my brain and my body and every single inch of me that was alive was flooded with the feeling that I was starving, starving for Edmond. And what a coincidence, that was the feeling I loved best in the world.” 


edmond description

heart divider



Death from POISON PRINCESS by Kresley Cole


OMG! Swoon worthy man if there ever was one. He is dark, dangerous, and deliciously evil when he needs to be. The only person he behaves for is Evie – the girl he is destined to be with. The girl he can’t help but love. The girl he might end up killing! WOW! The sexual tension and love scenes between Death and Evie are HOT HOT HOT!!


heart divider



Malachi from SANCTUM by Sarah Fine


Malachi is a fierce warrior always fighting to protect the weak from evil. He is willing to sacrifice so much to protect Lela. His love and passion comes through in everything he does. Also, he has a very sexy accent! Purrrrrrrr.

heart divider



Day from LEGEND by Marie Lu

Day is a rebel. He fights for freedom from an oppressive government. He takes care of people weaker than himself. He falls in love with the one person who hates him the most. Until, she meets him and falls head over heels for him. Together, Day and June fight against the Republic while fighting to be together.

heart divider




Lucius is a dreamy, alpha male vampire. So much sexier than Edward. I love his humor. I love his personality. I love his intensity. He pulls out all the stops to win Anastasia’s love. He gives me shivers.

heart divider



Morpheus from SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard

YUM! PURRRRR! GASP! Morpheus is alarmingly sexy. He is witty, irreverent, cocky, confident, and playful. He makes me laugh all the time, which is so important to me. I need a man with a good sense of humor. I’d rule Wonderland with Morpheus forever. If only he’d ask.

heart divider


So, I’ve bared my soul to you. You now know what I look for in a book boyfriend. For the most part they are tall, strong, dark, and handsome with the exception of Edmond and Day. Day is tall, strong, and handsome, but he is blonde.  Edmond is the outlier. While he is tall, strong, and handsome, he doesn’t have the same personality type of the others. He is quiet and introspective. He isn’t flashy in any way. He just is.


So, who are your book boyfriends? Are you like me and have more than one, because you know I have more than ten. Or, are you more faithful than I am and stick to one?


Leave your crushes in the comments. I can’t wait to see who they are.


Karin Perry is a former middle school librarian and current Assistant Professor of Library Science at Sam Houston State University. She loves that her job consists of reading young adult novels. She keeps track of her reading on Goodreads at and currently blogs at She lives with her husband and her Chihuahua, Max on 29 acres in rural Oklahoma. You can find her on Twitter at @kperry.