war  hats March 22


Hazardous Tales on YouTube by Nathan Hale

Hello, Nathan Hale here. I’m trying out something completely new today and I’m debuting it here on the Nerdy Book Club blog. This is my first Hazardous Tales YouTube video!


Since starting the Hazardous Tales books, I’ve done a lot of school visiting and public speaking. When I started, I had a PowerPoint slideshow to accompany my presentation. It wasn’t super exciting, but it was all art that I had created, so I was happy with it. I was visiting a school in Maryland, preparing my PowerPoint, when I was told the school had no projector. This was terrifying for two reasons: A) everything I talked about was clued in by the images in the slideshow–they worked as my notes, and B) the school librarian was Newbery-winning author and professional storyteller Laura Amy Schlitz.




I said, “Er, my presentation is really visual, and I sort of NEED a projector of some kind.” Laura Amy Schlitz rolled out an easel with an art pad on it.


So, I took a deep breath and jumped in. I remembered what my first slide was, so I drew it while I talked. That led to the second slide, and before I knew it, I had DRAWN my whole presentation! I didn’t need the PowerPoint! THE SLIDES WERE IN ME!!! This was a real Dumbo’s Magic Feather moment. By not having a projector, Laura Amy Schlitz took me to the next level! I’ve drawn my presentations ever since.


The only problem I’ve had with the drawing presentations, is they are very hard to video. People ask for a sample video and I just have to explain it–until NOW! An illustrator friend of mine, Will Terry, has a great YouTube channel where he talks about children’s illustration. He told me what software I needed to do my drawing and talking thing on YouTube. Several attempts later, I completed this video!



Pretty cool, eh? I hope you liked it. I plan to be drawing and talking about a LOT of interesting non-fiction/Hazardous stuff in the future. And I’m happy to show the premiere here at Nerdy Book Club first!


Nathan Hale is the author and illustrator of the New York Times Best-selling series of graphic novels on American History: Hazardous Tales. He drew the pictures for Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack. He loves burritos.