Book Trailer Premiere: My Life in Dioramas by Tara Altebrando

The trailer for my book, My Life in Dioramasis no ordinary trailer. It was created entirely by Teeny Tiny Filmworks, a group of middle school age filmmakers. I think, once you see it, you’ll agree with me that they absolutely hit it out of the park!


So without further ado, here’s what they created:



Amazing, right? Those dioramas! That fancy camera work! As you can tell from watching, the girls put a lot of hard work and heart into this project. I asked them a few questions about it.
What was the biggest challenge you faced making the trailer for My Life in Dioramas?

Jocelyn: I think trying not to look up at the camera when it was going over my head probably.
Olivia: Editing the trailer was really difficult.
Jill: Making the proportions right in the dioramas.

Which is your favorite diorama in the trailer and why?

Jill: My favorite diorama is the bottle rocket one because I liked how we made the bottles move.
Venessa: I think my favorite diorama is the Christmas one because it was very fun to make and I liked wrapping the presents.

What did you like most about the book?

Jocelyn: I liked that throughout the book there were a mix of emotions.
Olivia: I liked how it was really relatable because Kate was our age, and I felt like I was a part of the story.

This is your second book trailer. What do you think makes a good trailer?

Julia: Putting together sequences before you start editing can tell a better story when you’re making a book trailer.
Jill: Storyboards help make the trailer because it helps to plan what you’re going to do in the filming and editing processes.
Venessa: I think that the book has to be relatable in order for there to be a good trailer and My Life in Dioramas is.

If Teeny Tiny Filmworks were given a budget to make a feature film, what book would you all want to adapt for the screen and why?

Jocelyn: Probably, So B. It  because it’s a heartwarming story.
Julia: I would choose, Fever 1793, by Laurie Halse Anderson because it is suspenseful.
Venessa: Septimus Heap, because it is a great book, and it has a lot of adventure.