The Backstory on Barkus by Patricia McLachlan – A Cover Reveal

I have a house by the water on Cape Cod.  And far up the hill lived a lovely golden retriever named Barkus.  He was charming, and he would come to visit me – waiting at my door to be let in.  I would let him in.  My two dogs, Emmet and Charlie, were always glad to see him. And they’d play for several minutes.

But Barkus knew what he wanted.  Their toys!

They had a large basket of toys and he would go over and pick two he liked – mostly stuffed animals like old bears and stuffed long snakes.

He would then come go to the door and I’d open it, and he would take them home to his house.

Later, on the hill, I’d sometimes small pieces of them, left behind as he ran home with him them.

For some reason I adored this dog – and the book his for him – a dog named Barkus.

Can you tell I’m crazy about dogs??


patricia-maclachlan-with-dogPatricia MacLachlan is an incredibly versatile author whose titles range from picture books to novels. She won the Newbery Medal for her book Sarah, Plain and Tall and received strong reviews for her recent picture book biography of Henri Matisse, The Irides-cence of Birds. She based Barkus on the imagined adventures of her neighbor’s dog. She lives in Massachusetts.



About the Illustrator: Marc Boutavant has illustrated a wide range of books published in both the United States and France and has had work featured in the New York Times and the New Yorker. His previous titles for Chronicle include Around the World with Mouk and For Just One Day, as well as the All Aboard Train Puzzle and Matching Game,the Sky High Building Puzzle, and The Night Before Christmas Pop-Up Advent Calendar. He lives in Paris.