Sketch113194837 October 21

Tags

“Just Right” Books: So Much More Than a Level by Melanie Fuemmeler

“Sometimes you read a book so special that you want to carry it around with you for months after you’ve finished just to stay near it.” – Marcus Zusak

I recently worked in a classroom helping students understand what it means to have a “just right” book in their hands.  Before beginning the lesson I asked students to share how they knew a book was “just right” for them, and received the following responses:

  • “It’s on your level.”
  • “If you are a 3.1, and the book is a 1.4 it is too easy and if it’s a 4.4 it is too hard.”
  • “It’s from the blue bin.”
  • “If I take a quiz on it and get all the points I know it was on my level.”
  • “It’s on my level.”
  • “It’s on my level.”
  • “It’s on my level.”

 

Every single answer the students gave was related, in some form, to the book being on their level.  And each time it was stated, my heart broke a little.

 

When I left that classroom I began to reflect on my own school days, realizing I could not recall a single teacher ever telling me my reading level.  As a child, I just read.  I consumed Dear Mr. Henshaw, Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret, and The Giver with the voracity of a hungry lion.  Before I ever started school there was not Berenstein Bears book that I could not recite.  And no one ever told me not to read those books.  No one.  No one ever tapped me on the shoulder to tell me that a book was above or below, or even, right on my level.  Granted my schooling days took place during the time of the Parrots, Peacocks, and Canaries reading groups and the testing demands were much less than what teachers face today.  Regardless, my weekly trips to the local library and daily trips to the school library left me looking only for beloved authors, breathtaking tales, and brilliant pictures.  Books that had annoying older sisters, and girls with no grandparents, and families with a thousand pets, because we never had a single one. Books that I had my nose in before it was even checked out in my name. And if they weren’t available in the library I became insistent that my mother just purchase them for me to have forever. I simply could not wait for them. The urge inside me to read the book was so intense that I knew myself it was a “just right” book.  

 

I reflect on my elementary experience for one reason alone–I have come to realize that the vast majority of kids today don’t know this.  They don’t know the joy of perusing an entire library, feverishly looking for a book that speaks to them.  They don’t know their favorite authors because books have always been placed in their hands by an other.  They don’t know who they are as readers because they have never been given the opportunity to shape their own reading identity, it’s always been done for them.  And come to think of it, it hasn’t been a terribly enjoyable ride. Sadly, the experience today’s students will look back on will be one of their teacher directing them to a certain section of the library that has books on their level, while the student hopes from within a book will be waiting there that they are excited to read.  Most times they walk away disappointed.

 

Many articles and much research have been published regarding the unintended consequences of making students aware of their reading level because by doing so we allow it to deeply shape their reading identity as a “good” or “bad” reader.  We would also be wise to recognize the role this number plays in limiting our readers.  Boxing them into parameters in which they feel they cannot operate outside of, instilling further misconceptions about what it means to live the life of a reader.

 

After our initial conversation in my lesson that day, I knew my mission for the next next 55 minutes.  We began to draft a list of all the ways we know a book is “just right” for us other than its level.  I shared with them that as an adult, no one has told me my reading level in years.  I asked them to think about how I know a book is “just right” for me when I walk into the library.  This idea was mind-blowing to some, but as we began to talk through it the conversations became spirited and enthusiastic.  And I left them with this challenge:

 

“This year, when someone asks you why you are reading the book in your hands, your response is not, ‘It’s on my level.’  But rather, something that sounds like this:

  • ‘It’s by my favorite author and I just have to read all of his/her books.  They’re the best!’
  • ‘This book has my favorite scene in the whole world!  Do you have a minute?  I’d like to share it with you.’
  • ‘Oh, this book.  Well, I’ve read this one six times already, but it just keeps getting better each time. This time I noticed how the author did ________.’
  • ‘I just had to know more about the character in this book, because he/she seemed a lot like me.’”

 

This is how our students should know they have a just right book in their hands.   It’s visceral.  It’s a feeling in their heart that creates an instant connection to a book–not a number on a report.

 

Melanie Fuemmeler is a K-5 Instructional Coach in Kansas City, MO.  Her passion lies in developing readers and writers, young and old alike.  A society needs voices, activism and empathy–all of which are achieved through a love of literacy.  Her daily mission is to find those voices to make them heard.  Follow her on Twitter @mfuemm and see more of her posts at www.mfuemmeler.wordpress.com.