Finding Inspiration by Mike Lowery

Hello!  I’m Mike Lowery an illustrator and author who spends most of the day drawing bananas with faces on them, space stuff, robotic cats and a grumpy duck named Carl from my series of books, Doodle Adventures.

 

I’d like to talk to you a little bit about a little thing called “Inspiration.” People ask me all the time how I come up with my ideas for my books and comics, and I’m going to let you in on a little secret:  Inspiration doesn’t all of a sudden appear out of nowhere!  It’s not a magical thing that comes in through a window while you’re just sitting there sipping tea that plants an idea and makes you yell “aha!” at the top of your lungs.  I mean maybe that’s the way it for some folks, but not for me.

 

For me, ideas don’t just appear like that.  They’re a combination of lots of little doodles or notes that I’ve made that slowly turn into an idea.  Often, when I sit down and look at a clean piece of paper, I’m not really sure what to draw, so I give myself little drawing games to play to help my brain get kickstarted a little.  Sometimes the drawings that come out of these games are not-so-great and they just stay in my sketchbook, and sometimes they grow into a little seedling, and if I keep adding to it..it turns into something I might use for a project.

 

Every day, I sit down for at least an hour (sometimes it’s more, sometimes it’s less), and I just…draw.  I draw what I had for lunch, I draw little shapes and try to turn them into some kind of animal or alien or creature, I draw something from my day, I draw anything I can think of.

 

If you’re having a hard time thinking of how to start a story, I’ve created a short comic just for you.  You can use the suggestions as a guideline to create something brand new! OR, don’t use the guidelines AT ALL, and just make up your own story!

 

Good luck!

unknown-1

unknown-1

unknown-2

unknown-3

unknown-4

unknown-5

unknown-6

unknown-7

unknown-8

unknown-9

 

—-

 

Follow Mike and see how he turns his love of travel, food and drawing into a daily doodle diary on Instagram at:  @mikelowerystudio

 

And check out his latest book The Pursuit of the Pesky Pizza Pirate, book 2 in the Doodle Adventures series.  Book 3 is due out soon…and happens to be about a robotic cat made out of stinky tuna fish cans.