How THE BEST MAN Came to Be by Richard Peck

The Best Man hi res coverThe book was born, or at least begun, on the June day in 2014 when Illinois state legislation implemented same-sex marriage.  I hoped that by the time the book was finished, same-sex marriage would be the law of the land.  But history moved faster than my book.

History often does.  History moves in fits and starts and takes sudden leaps.  And now for the first time in our history marriage is everybody’s right.

But have the youngest readers among us heard?  The standardized test and the textbook haven’t caught up.  It seemed to me it was time for a story.  A novel was needed, addressed to grade-school and middle-school readers.  A novel to spark discussion and to open a door to a world suddenly living in a whole different era.

When I began to hear the story in my head, a boy was telling it, a boy looking ahead to the adult world in search of role models.  I give him some great ones: a grandfather, a dad, an uncle, a teacher.  A dad who’s doing his best to be a good father to his son and a good son to his father.  An uncle who can sweep the world clean of the scariest bully in first grade.  A teacher who thinks fifth-graders are strange and fascinating characters.

And so the story is all about a boy named Archer Magill, trying to untangle the bewildering world of his adults and to get his role models in a row.  Then one of them wants to marry another one of them.

I hope my story doesn’t preach, and I hope it’s not political.  I hope it’s a story about love and loss and laughter and family. About how people live today, American people, with their young ones looking up to them.  I hope it’s a story about how history happens even if you aren’t learning any in school.

 

Richard Peck

2016

Richard Peck has won almost every children’s fiction award, including the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Newbery Medal, the Scott O’Dell Award, and the Edgar, and he has twice been nominated for a National Book Award. He was the first children’s author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal. He lives in New York City.

The Best Man hits shelves September 20th.