January 01

2016 NERDIES: Middle Grade Fiction Winners Announced by Colby Sharp

I love the Nerdies! Each year I have the opportunity to announce the middle grade fiction winners. It is so much fun. Donalyn Miller sends me the list around the time winter break begins. I immediately go through the list to see how many of the books I’ve read. One of my favorite things about the Nerdy list is seeing books that the Nerdy community loved, that I didn’t get a chance to read. This year I’ve read 20 of the 24 books. Not bad!

Without further ado I present to you the 2016 Middle Grade Fiction Nerdies.

All Rise For The Honorable Perry T. Cook by Leslie Connor

As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds

Ashes by Laurie Halse Anderson

Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin

Finding Perfect by Elly Swartz

Full of Beans by Jennifer L. Holm

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley

Ghost by Jason Reynolds

Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart

Ms. Bixby’s Last Day by John David Anderson

Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban

Pax by Sara Pennypacker

Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

The Inquisitor’s Tale by Adam Gidwitz

The Seventh Wish by Kate Messner

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

Towers Falling By Jewell Parker Rhodes

Two Naomis by Olugbemisola Rhuday Perkovich & Audrey Vernick

When The Sea Turned To Silver by Grace Lin

Wish by Barbara O’Connor

Wolf Hallow by Lauren Wolk

Colby Sharp is a third grade teacher in Parma, Michigan. He loves his family, books, teaching, and string cheese. He is the co-founder of the Nerdy Book Club and Nerd Camp. Colby is very excited about making The Creativity Project (2018) with a bunch of his friends.