April 24

Tags

About I Follow My Nose Wherever It Goes by Pauline Thompson

Who am I to write about DNA? I’m not a geneticist. I’m not a doctor. I’m not a biologist. I’m a curious kid trapped in an adult body. And I’m constantly astounded by how little I know. So I follow my nose and sniff around for answers to questions like: Who am I? What am I made of? What is it to be alive? Hooray for DNA! was the result.

Many hats ago, I was a marketing communications manager in the computer graphics industry. I condensed complicated user manual concepts into reader-friendly prose for marketing material, brochures, and advertising copy. Turns out it also gave me a useful skill for writing nonfiction picture books. I like tackling intimidating topics and wrestling them to the mat. But the key? The subject must capture my imagination and feel personally relevant. At first, it’s a selfish pursuit. When I reach a place of giddy understanding, I’m busting to share what I’ve learned. I peel back the layers until I find the simplest answers for complex questions. Then it’s a rush to write while it’s clear in my mind. Writing preserves knowledge. Einstein said, “If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” I strive to understand “well enough.”

I read A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson a few years ago. I loved it. There was a small section where Bryson referenced the amount of DNA humans share with a fruit fly. (It’s 60 percent, in case you’re wondering.) And it got me thinking: How much DNA do I share with a dog? A horse? A cockroach? A banana? Another person? The seed was planted for Hooray for DNA! and from there, it sprang to life. No work is born in isolation—it’s sprinkled with the fairy dust of our creative predecessors. Stories beget stories. Thank you, Bill Bryson.

Tackling DNA as a subject felt ambitious and a little scary. I had a large learning curve to overcome. Adult me is a popular science geek, but not an actual scientist. I mentally teleported back to high school, revisiting some chemistry and biology 101 to get started. From there, multiple books, journals, newspapers, science sites, and other internet rabbit holes let me piece together my fragmented knowledge. I chased down answers that led to more questions, which led to more answers, until I was satisfied. It’s an incredible time to live if you need to go knowledge hunting. Access to information is such a gift. And so are libraries! I borrowed a lot of books. Thank you, Toronto Public Library.

The great Toni Morrison said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” I want to read science books that make intimidating topics easy to understand. Hooray for DNA! came to me in verse. It felt like the right approach. Playing an instrument also helps with writing in rhyme. My rhythm is driven by an inner metronome.

And there’s Dr. Seuss. I loved him as a child and parent. His books were so entertaining to read aloud. My boys could easily intuit what would come next. Seuss’s rhyming romps kept them curious and engaged in wordplay. I had an interested publisher ask me to consider rewriting Hooray for DNA! in prose. I tried, and I couldn’t do it. The muse wants what the muse wants, and this story wanted to be in verse. It’s not a good “get published” strategy to write in rhyme.

It doesn’t translate into other languages. That’s typically not good business, and most publishers shy away. Not Knopf, thank goodness. Making science playful and planting “curiosity seeds” are important to me. Plus expanding vocabulary while at it. I have faith in a child’s ability to cope with big words and concepts—poetic delivery just makes it taste sweeter. Thank you, Dr. Seuss.

Hooray for DNA! is my first book, and I had a lot to learn. A LOT! Fortunately, I have a very patient team at Knopf who guided me. For starters, back matter? Had I given that some thought? No, I barely knew what it was. Just when I thought I was done and dusted, I had a whole new book to write—at the back of my book! I had to think about ways to help teachers, parents, and advanced young readers further explore DNA concepts. It required the same kind of research, if not more, as writing the original manuscript. My editor, Rotem Moscovich, nudged me to use every square inch of paper available, to provide elaboration, additional reading references, useful internet links, and activities. (My current manuscript about quantum physics has enough back matter to fill a black hole.) Thank you, Rotem and Team Knopf.

I was so fortunate to be paired up with award-winning illustrator Greg Pizzoli. Greg’s playful illustrations are set in an elementary classroom. Children learn about DNA through creative exploration and art-making. With his unique cartoon style, Greg adds a lot of sensitivity and subtle humor to Hooray for DNA! It’s an even more inviting read because of Greg’s deft artistry and imagination. Thank you, Greg Pizzoli!

We have so much in common with all that is alive on Mother Earth. This story is a celebration of common ground, connectedness, and the miracle of life. I hope it sparks curiosity, questions, and a hunger for more knowledge: “What has two eyes, two ears, a mouth and a nose? We’re all connected, that’s just how it goes.” Hooray for DNA! is an invitation to revel in our genetic kinship.

Debut author Pauline Thompson writes picture books, young adult novels, screenplays, grocery lists, to-do lists, and journals every day. She has more burning questions about existence and quantum matter that need answering. Pauline is seeking to understand “well enough,” with more picture books to come. When she’s not writing, Pauline is plucking her ukulele, plinking the piano, and doodling doodles to help collect her thoughts. She is a volunteer workshop facilitator for the Writers Collective of Canada.