January 01

2014 NERDY AWARDS FOR MIDDLE GRADE FICTION ANNOUNCED BY COLBY SHARP

Chances are if you are anything like me the first thing you did when you opened this post was scroll down and look at the winners. I’m hoping that you saw some of your favorite 2014 books obelow, and that you maybe found a book or two to add to your to-read list. Thanks for scrolling back up and reading my little introduction.

I think that there is something very special about middle grade books and the middle grade reader. I feel that for many kids the books that they read and the books read aloud to them during this time in their life are books that will stay with them throughout their lives. I know that I will never forget when the student teacher in my fourth grade classroom read us Hatchet, or when my third grade teacher introduced me to Judy Blume’s Fudge and Beverly Cleary’s Ramona.

I asked my friends on Twitter if they could share with me what middle grade books from their childhood have stuck with them. I sent the tweet, and then headed out the door on a date with my lovely wife. When I checked my phone when I got home, I was flooded with tweets. Tweets about how middle grade books remained in the hearts of my friends long after they left their elementary and middle school classrooms. I’ve embedded a few of these tweets below. To read more search the #NerdyMG hashtag on Twitter.

 

 

 

 

 

As you look back through this list of amazing books, I hope you take a moment to think about how 20, 30 and even 40 years from now, these books will still be found in the hearts of today’s readers.

Happy Reading!

absolutely

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff

Boys of Blur

Boys of Blur by N.D. Wilson

Circa Now

Circa Now by Amber McRee Turner

courage

Courage for Beginners by Karen Harrington

dash

Dash by Kirby Larson

Death by Toilet Paper

Death by Toilet Paper by Donna Gephart

Five, Six, Seven, Nate

Five, Six, Seven, Nate by Tim Federle

goldfish

The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer Holm

Great Greene Heist

The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson

Greenglass House

Greenglass House by Kate Milford

Half a Chance

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied

How to Outrun a Crocodile When Your Shoes Are Untied by Jess Keating


Mark of the Dragonfly

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson

Nest by Esther EhrlichNest by Esther Ehrlich


Nightingale's Nest

Nightingale’s Nest by Nikki Loftin

rain

Rain, Reign by Ann M. Martin

Revolution

Revolution by Deborah Wiles

snicker

A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd

The Boundless Kenneth Oppel

The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel

The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing

The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing by Sheila Turnage

The Meaning of Maggie

The Meaning of Maggie by Jean Sovern

The Night Gardener

The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier

The Riverman

The Riverman by Aaron Starmer

The Secret Hum of a Daisy

The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holzcer

The Witch's Boy

The Witch’s Boy by Kelly Barnhill

Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere

Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere by Julie Lamana

West of the Moon

West of the Moon by Margi Preus

 Colby Sharp is a third grade teacher in Parma, Michigan.