Category Archives: Top Ten Lists

over and under the snow November 22

Ten Ways to Get Primary Readers to Read by Kimberley Moran

As he sounds out the word painfully slowly, he looks desperately to the illustration for assistance. He looks at me. I look back blankly. He says each sound separately, but blends it incorrectly. He shakes his head. He looks at me. I look back with my gentle smile.  He glances over at the boys reading […]

where the stars still shine November 15

Top Ten High School Favorites from Former Students by Sarah Krajewski and some of her former students

Reading is an enormous part of my 9th grade classroom. Students cannot get around it. Thousands of books circle them on all sides, with the newest and most popular displayed proudly. I’m thrilled with how much I can encourage my students to read, but I am in my glory when former students—10th, 11th, 12th graders, […]

Sketch 2011-12-01 14_52_29 November 08

Top 10 Ways to Get a Middle School Student to Want to Read by Meredith Daniels

Middle school students are known for being picky.  Along with being picky, this age group very rarely wants to read “assigned books.”  Here are the Top 10 ways to get your middle school students to read.   CHOICE – This is probably one of the most important things you can do for your MS students. […]

a step from heaven October 30

Top Ten YA Books that Tackle Love and Abuse by Mathangi Subramanian

The teen years are a time to learn skills we rely on for the rest of our lives: how to drive a car. How to cook a meal. How to take a standardized test. How to cope when that standardized test doesn’t come out the way we expected. How to cope with our parents. And […]

the great unexpected October 26

Top Ten Children’s and Young Adult Books About Trees, Woods, or Forests by Holly Mueller

I participated this year for the first time in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge, started by Two Writing Teachers.  It was an amazing experience.  I personalized the challenge by writing about childhood memories because my fifth graders were writing memoirs.  In one memory, I wrote about my love of trees and playing in […]

wrinkle in time October 25

Top 10 Books for Reluctant MG and YA Readers by F.T. Bradley

When I set out to write the Double Vision trilogy, I wasn’t all that knowledgeable on reluctant readers, what books appealed to them, and why. All I wanted to do was write a fun, fast-paced thriller. The kind of book I would like to read if I was still twelve (okay, if we’re honest: the […]

cherub October 18

The Need for Big Books: A Top “Ten” List by Stephanie Severson

I read a lot about reluctant readers and how to get boys to read.  This is definitely an issue I see in my classroom.  However, I have also encountered the opposite problem — the boys that burn through books, boys that read so much they need a new book every few days, boys that crave […]

Lisa and Brian October 11

Top Ten Reasons to Marry a Nerdy Book Club Member by Lisa and Brian Wyzlic

We’ve all had that moment. The moment when we’ve found our tribe. C.S. Lewis put it best when he said, “Friendship is born at that moment when one [person] says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .’” For many of us, that last sentence would be “I […]

Boy Meets Boy October 04

Top Ten LGBTQ Books the Younger Me Desperately Needed by Dawn Betts-Green

Educators and librarians are well aware that every child and young adult needs to find themselves reflected in the pages of the books they read.  For some this is more difficult to achieve than others.  As an LGBTQ youth just coming out in the 90s and living in small-town, rural Alabama, I sought frantically through […]

drums girls and dangerous pie September 27

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  One of the books I brought to booktalk was This Star […]