Category Archives: Top Ten Lists

drums girls and dangerous pie September 27

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  One of the books I brought to booktalk was This Star […]

AdultYA September 20

Adult Fiction for YA Readers by Shannon Nemer

Despite the recent attention focused on naysayers, I’m firmly in the camp that we should read what appeals to us, regardless of the age it was intended for. Still, I often hear readers who focus mainly on YA expressing an interest in adult fiction and looking for recommendations. In hopes of broadening horizons, I’m turning my attention to recent books with themes that mirror YA novels and would make for a good […]

flotsam September 13

Top Ten Things People Said 5th Graders Couldn’t Read – But Did by Taylor Meredith

Each year, I have tried to choose unexpected texts solely for the purpose of making my fifth graders think. I want them to think about themselves, our community and the world around them.   And in these unexpected choices, I found myself also forced to think….what if we made it a classroom practice to closely […]

what do you do with a tail like this September 06

Ten Picture Books I Could Read with My Eyes Closed by Jennifer Brittin

“My Dear Lucy,   I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will […]

book-character-who-would-be-awesome-friends August 30

10 Book Characters Who Would Be Awesome Friends by Brenda Priddy

While children’s books are fun to read, have you ever noticed how many of the main characters are rather bratty? Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, Tom Sawyer, Greg Heffley, Artemis Fowl, and many other book characters would make truly awful people. But for every terrible book character, there is at least one other who would […]

wilifrid August 23

Top 10 Picture Books to Inspire “Classroom Habitudes” by Lesley Burnap

At the beginning of this summer I was privileged to hear Angela Maiers speak about her book, Classroom Habitudes: Teaching Habits and Attitudes for 21st Century Learning, and her movement, Choose2Matter. This passionate speaker and educator has encouraged me to be bolder. During day 2 of nErDcampMI, I found myself standing in line with my […]

Sketch11319220 August 16

Top Ten Reasons for Starting a Staff Book Club by Megan Skogstad

I’m sure like many of you reading this post; one of my passions is reading professional books on literacy. Reading the latest books that focus on best practices in literacy has helped me become a more effective teacher. Upon beginning another new school year, in a new building last year, I met a fellow teacher […]

Top 10 Picture Books for Activists in Training by Mathangi Subramanian

Here’s the thing grownups constantly forget about childhood: sometimes, it sucks. Kids all over the world face poverty, war, bullying, discrimination, and oppression. Being young doesn’t protect you from the pressures of adulthood. It just gives you fewer ways to deal with these pressures, not to mention less control over your life. But here’s the […]

the crossover August 02

Top Ten Novels in Verse by Katie Strawser

“Humans waste words. They toss them like banana peels and leave them to rot.” Katherine Applegate, The One and Only Ivan pg. 2   This is one of my favorite quotes. It’s rare that I actually remember specific lines of a story, but this is one that seems to have settled in my heart.   […]

knock knock July 26

A Top Ten Featuring the Coretta Scott King Book Awards by Monica Edinger

On a Sunday morning this past June I was sitting in a Las Vegas ballroom with tears in my eyes. Not because I had just trudged through multiple casinos full of fake Roman decor to get there, but because I was listening and watching as one recipient after another gave a heartfelt speech in response […]