Category Archives: Top Ten Lists

cherub October 18

The Need for Big Books: A Top “Ten” List by Stephanie Severson

I read a lot about reluctant readers and how to get boys to read.  This is definitely an issue I see in my classroom.  However, I have also encountered the opposite problem — the boys that burn through books, boys that read so much they need a new book every few days, boys that crave […]

Lisa and Brian October 11

Top Ten Reasons to Marry a Nerdy Book Club Member by Lisa and Brian Wyzlic

We’ve all had that moment. The moment when we’ve found our tribe. C.S. Lewis put it best when he said, “Friendship is born at that moment when one [person] says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .’” For many of us, that last sentence would be “I […]

Boy Meets Boy October 04

Top Ten LGBTQ Books the Younger Me Desperately Needed by Dawn Betts-Green

Educators and librarians are well aware that every child and young adult needs to find themselves reflected in the pages of the books they read.  For some this is more difficult to achieve than others.  As an LGBTQ youth just coming out in the 90s and living in small-town, rural Alabama, I sought frantically through […]

drums girls and dangerous pie September 27

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  One of the books I brought to booktalk was This Star […]

AdultYA September 20

Adult Fiction for YA Readers by Shannon Nemer

Despite the recent attention focused on naysayers, I’m firmly in the camp that we should read what appeals to us, regardless of the age it was intended for. Still, I often hear readers who focus mainly on YA expressing an interest in adult fiction and looking for recommendations. In hopes of broadening horizons, I’m turning my attention to recent books with themes that mirror YA novels and would make for a good […]

flotsam September 13

Top Ten Things People Said 5th Graders Couldn’t Read – But Did by Taylor Meredith

Each year, I have tried to choose unexpected texts solely for the purpose of making my fifth graders think. I want them to think about themselves, our community and the world around them.   And in these unexpected choices, I found myself also forced to think….what if we made it a classroom practice to closely […]

what do you do with a tail like this September 06

Ten Picture Books I Could Read with My Eyes Closed by Jennifer Brittin

“My Dear Lucy,   I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will […]

book-character-who-would-be-awesome-friends August 30

10 Book Characters Who Would Be Awesome Friends by Brenda Priddy

While children’s books are fun to read, have you ever noticed how many of the main characters are rather bratty? Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, Tom Sawyer, Greg Heffley, Artemis Fowl, and many other book characters would make truly awful people. But for every terrible book character, there is at least one other who would […]

wilifrid August 23

Top 10 Picture Books to Inspire “Classroom Habitudes” by Lesley Burnap

At the beginning of this summer I was privileged to hear Angela Maiers speak about her book, Classroom Habitudes: Teaching Habits and Attitudes for 21st Century Learning, and her movement, Choose2Matter. This passionate speaker and educator has encouraged me to be bolder. During day 2 of nErDcampMI, I found myself standing in line with my […]

Sketch11319220 August 16

Top Ten Reasons for Starting a Staff Book Club by Megan Skogstad

I’m sure like many of you reading this post; one of my passions is reading professional books on literacy. Reading the latest books that focus on best practices in literacy has helped me become a more effective teacher. Upon beginning another new school year, in a new building last year, I met a fellow teacher […]