Category Archives: Top Ten Lists

a step from heaven October 30

Top Ten YA Books that Tackle Love and Abuse by Mathangi Subramanian

The teen years are a time to learn skills we rely on for the rest of our lives: how to drive a car. How to cook a meal. How to take a standardized test. How to cope when that standardized test doesn’t come out the way we expected. How to cope with our parents. And […]

the great unexpected October 26

Top Ten Children’s and Young Adult Books About Trees, Woods, or Forests by Holly Mueller

I participated this year for the first time in the March Slice of Life Story Challenge, started by Two Writing Teachers.  It was an amazing experience.  I personalized the challenge by writing about childhood memories because my fifth graders were writing memoirs.  In one memory, I wrote about my love of trees and playing in […]

wrinkle in time October 25

Top 10 Books for Reluctant MG and YA Readers by F.T. Bradley

When I set out to write the Double Vision trilogy, I wasn’t all that knowledgeable on reluctant readers, what books appealed to them, and why. All I wanted to do was write a fun, fast-paced thriller. The kind of book I would like to read if I was still twelve (okay, if we’re honest: the […]

cherub October 18

The Need for Big Books: A Top “Ten” List by Stephanie Severson

I read a lot about reluctant readers and how to get boys to read.  This is definitely an issue I see in my classroom.  However, I have also encountered the opposite problem — the boys that burn through books, boys that read so much they need a new book every few days, boys that crave […]

Lisa and Brian October 11

Top Ten Reasons to Marry a Nerdy Book Club Member by Lisa and Brian Wyzlic

We’ve all had that moment. The moment when we’ve found our tribe. C.S. Lewis put it best when he said, “Friendship is born at that moment when one [person] says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .’” For many of us, that last sentence would be “I […]

Boy Meets Boy October 04

Top Ten LGBTQ Books the Younger Me Desperately Needed by Dawn Betts-Green

Educators and librarians are well aware that every child and young adult needs to find themselves reflected in the pages of the books they read.  For some this is more difficult to achieve than others.  As an LGBTQ youth just coming out in the 90s and living in small-town, rural Alabama, I sought frantically through […]

drums girls and dangerous pie September 27

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  One of the books I brought to booktalk was This Star […]

AdultYA September 20

Adult Fiction for YA Readers by Shannon Nemer

Despite the recent attention focused on naysayers, I’m firmly in the camp that we should read what appeals to us, regardless of the age it was intended for. Still, I often hear readers who focus mainly on YA expressing an interest in adult fiction and looking for recommendations. In hopes of broadening horizons, I’m turning my attention to recent books with themes that mirror YA novels and would make for a good […]

flotsam September 13

Top Ten Things People Said 5th Graders Couldn’t Read – But Did by Taylor Meredith

Each year, I have tried to choose unexpected texts solely for the purpose of making my fifth graders think. I want them to think about themselves, our community and the world around them.   And in these unexpected choices, I found myself also forced to think….what if we made it a classroom practice to closely […]

what do you do with a tail like this September 06

Ten Picture Books I Could Read with My Eyes Closed by Jennifer Brittin

“My Dear Lucy,   I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will […]